Canada coach John Tait has announced the centralized roster for the 25 athletes striving for number one not only on the 2018 Series, but also the RWC Sevens. The squad will be lead by Captain, Ghislaine Landry. Landry currently holds the Canadian women’s record for all-time scorer with 844 points. Last year the Toronto native led the season with 269 points, finished second overall in conversions with 168 and third overall with 101 tries scored.

The Roster includes 16 players who have played on the series, including nine members of Canada’s RIO 2016 Bronze Medal winning team, including Brittany Benn, Hannah Darling, Bianca Farella, Jen Kish, Ghislaine Landry, Megan Lukan, Kayla Moleschi, Natasha Watcham-Roy and Charity Williams.

“With the start of the new Olympic cycle already underway, it’s hugely important to us to get what we currently believe is the core of the team that will be in Tokyo 2020 working & growing together as a group,” Tait said. “The program has evolved greatly over the last five years and it is gratifying to see the athletes we identified for the Youth Olympics, Youth Commonwealth Games and FISU 7s teams coming through and providing us with some quality depth within this new centralized group.”

“This season we will be targeting the World Series title, it means we will need to be consistently challenging for the cup finals at all five stops to be in contention to win it come the last stop in Paris. Winning the overall series shows who the most consistent team is and a lot of confidence comes from that. This will set us up well for our next goal of winning the World Cup in July as the top seeded team. The Commonwealth Games is a secondary goal as it is back-to-back with a series stop, so we will need to have our entire squad in good form to achieve the outcomes we are looking for.”

The HSBC Canada Women’s Sevens will return to Lagnford’s Westhills Stadium for a forth year on May 12-13. Stay tuned for more information on the ticket on-sale dates!

Canada’s Women’s Sevens Centralized Roster:

*Olivia Apps – Aurora Barbarians (Lindsay, ON)
*Maggie Banks – Shawnigan Lake School (Coquitlam, BC)
Britt Benn – Guelph Redcoats (Napanee, ON)
Pamphinette Buisa – Ottawa Irish (Gatineau, QC)
Emma Chown – Aurora Barbarians (Barrie, ON)
Caroline Crossley – Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
Hannah Darling – Peterborough Pagans (Warsaw, ON)
*Olivia de Couvreur – Ottawa Irish (Ottawa, ON)
Bianca Farella – Town of Mount Royal RFC (Montreal, QC)
*Maddy Grant – Cornwall Claymores (Cornwall, ON)
Julia Greenshields – Sarnia Saints (Sarnia, ON)
*Carmen Izyk – Foothills Lions (Blackie, AB)
Sara Kaljuvee – Toronto Scottish RFC (Ajax, ON)
Jen Kish – Edmonton Rockers (Edmonton, AB)
Ghislaine Landry (C) – Toronto Scottish RFC (Toronto, ON)
Nakisa Levale – Abbotsford Griffins (Abbotsford, BC)
Tausani Levale – Abbotsford RFC (Abbotsford, BC)
Kaili Lukan – Unattached (Barrie, ON)
Megan Lukan – Unattached (Barrie, ON)
Kayla Moleschi – Williams Lake Rustlers (Williams Lake, BC)
Breanne Nicholas – London St. George RFC (Blenheim, ON)
Arielle Normandin-Leclerc – TMRRFC (Montreal, QC)
Keyara Wardley – Okotoks Lions (Vulcan, AB)
Natasha Watcham-Roy – Hull Volant (Gatineau, QC)
Charity Williams – Markham Irish (Toronto, ON)

*Denotes players still in High School programs

Leave a comment