CANADA WIN BRONZE IN GLENDALE

(Via Rugby Canada)

Canada’s Women’s Sevens Team started their Tokyo 2020 qualifying season on the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series with a podium performance in Glendale, Colorado

Canada 26 – 7 Fiji

Caroline Crossley scored the opening try of the season for Canada as her side cruised to a 26-7 victory over Fiji to open day one. Julia Greenshields and Charity Williams – celebrating her 22nd birthday – also dotted down for tries, while Captain Ghislaine Landry added one score and three conversions in the win. With the 11 points Landry now sits only five points shy of becoming the first female to record 1000 on the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series.

Canada 24 – 12 Ireland

Canada’s Women’s Sevens Team moved to 2-0 with a 24-12 win over Ireland in their second game of the day. Bianca Farella, Kaili Lukan, Julia Greenshields and Breanne Nicholas each scored tries, while Landry added four points off the boot to bring her running total to 999 points all-time. Lucy Mulhall and Stacey Flood with Ireland’s tries

Canada 24 – 10 France

Coach John Tait’s side closed out day one with a clinical 24-10 victory over France. Brittany Benn, Caroline Crossley, Bianca Farella and captain Ghislaine Landry each scored tries, while Landry made history by becoming the first-ever female player to record 1,000 points on the World Series.

Cup QF – Canada 21 – 17 Russia

Charity Williams scored two tries as Canada defeated Russia 21-17 to open day two in Glendale. Captain Landry also added one try and three conversions in the victory. The win sees Canada into the semi-finals against New Zealand at 4:20pm ET/1:20pm PT.

Cup SF – Canada 19 – 28 New Zealand

Fans at Infinity Park in Glendale were treated to one of the games of the weekend in the first semi-final as both New Zealand and Canada showed their true class. Portia Woodman scored two tries while Shakira Baker and Sarah Goss each added one, while Canada’s were scored by Farella, Greenshields and Benn. Canada will now face the loser of USA and France in the Bronze Medal match at 7:04pm ET/4:04pm PT

Bronze Medal – Canada 28 – 0 France

Canada ended the weekend with an emphatic 28-0 win over France to land on the podium in the first of six World Series stops this season. Bianca Farella opened the scoring with two first half tries, while Charity Williams and Kaili Lukan each added one.

—————————-

CBC Sports – Canada’s Olympic Broadcast station – will be live streaming the entire men’s and women’s 2018-19 season at www.cbcsports.ca with select coverage provided on television.

Canada roster for USA Women’s Sevens:

1. Olivia Apps, Lindsay RFC (Lindsay, ON)
2. Britt Benn, Guelph Redcoats (Napanee, ON)
3. Pam Buisa, Ottawa Irish (Gatineau, QC)
4. Emma Chown, Aurora Barbarians (Barrie, ON)
5. Caroline Crossley, Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
6. Bianca Farella, Town of Mount Royal RCF (Montreal, QC)
7. Julia Greenshields, Sarnia Saints (Sarnia, ON)
8. Sara Kaljuvee, Toronto Scottish (Pickering, ON)
9. Ghislaine Landry, Captain, Toronto Scottish (Toronto, ON)
10. Kaili Lukan, Unattached (Barrie, ON)
11. Kayla Moleschi, Williams Lake Rustlers (Williams Lake, BC)
12. Breanne Nicholas, London St. Georges RFC (Blenheim, ON)
13. Charity Williams, Markham Irish (Toronto, ON)

USA Women’s Sevens Schedule:

Saturday, October 20
Canada vs. Fiji – 12:30pm ET/9:30am PT
Canada vs. Ireland – 3:14pm ET/12:14pm PT
Canada vs. France – 6:20pm ET/3:20pm PT

Sunday, October 21
TBD

2018-19 HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series

Glendale, USA – October 20-21, 2018
Dubai, UAE – November 29-30, 2018
Sydney, Australia – February 1-3, 2019
Kitakyushu, Japan – April 20-21, 2019
Langford, Canada – May 11-12, 2019
Paris, France – May 31 – June 2, 2019

-30-